Official website links end with .gov.sg

Government agencies communicate via .gov.sg websites (e.g. go.gov.sg/open).Trusted websites

Secure websites use HTTPS

Look for a lock (Secure websites use HTTPS) or https:// as an added precaution. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Business Management


The Business Management Workforce Skills Qualifications (BM WSQ) framework aims to cultivate versatile ‘T-shaped Professionals’ who possess deep skills in a specific domain area as well as general knowledge in areas related to business management or operations.

The BM WSQ’s comprehensive approach ensures that professionals, managers, and executives (PMEs) seeking to develop their careers further will be equipped with valuable skills to make them an asset in any workplace. Empowered with T-shaped competencies, working professionals can remain competitive globally and operate successfully in different business environments.

The Personal Data Protection Commission (PDPC) has developed a courseware on “An Introduction to the Fundamentals of the Personal Data Protection Act for Non-Legal Personnel” under the BM WSQ framework for data protection officers and individuals who are involved in data protection work. The two-day training based on the courseware will be delivered by a list of SSG-approved training organisations. For more information, please visit the PDPC’s website at www.pdpc.gov.sg

Please click here to see the competency map of the framework.

Please click here to search for the competency standards of the framework.    

To find out how companies and individuals have benefited from Leadership and People Management (LPM) and Business Management (BM) WSQ training programmes, please click here.

With the development of the 34 Skills Frameworks, all courses and qualifications are now accredited against the Skills Frameworks since 27 Jul 2020. Hence, as part of this continuous transition, the four horizontal WSQ frameworks [Business Management (BM), Employability Skills (ES), Leadership and People Management (LPM) and Service Excellence Competency Framework (SVCF)] and their Competency Standard (CSes) will cease by 31 December 2022.

In 2019, SSG undertook a review of the Generic Skills and Competencies (GSC) to formulate a total of sixteen (16) new Critical Core Skills (CCS) competencies which was launched in 2020.  These 16 CCS competencies are transferable soft skillsets that our local workforce can be equipped with, and which are valued by employers across industries. For more information on CCS, please refer to the CCS webpage.

WSQ as a national qualification would remain in place and trainees who were awarded the relevant WSQ qualifications and SOAs in the past, their qualifications and SOAs would not be affected by the upcoming cessation of the horizontal WSQ frameworks. Trainees who are taking currently the horizontal WSQ full qualification programmes and completing them (including assessments) before 31 December 2022, will still be awarded the relevant SOAs and qualifications. 

Modules in the Business Management Framework

The Business Management framework comprises the following modules:

Modules for Business Development (Business Negotiation)

Modules for Business Development (Sales and Marketing)

Modules for Communications

Modules for Enterprise Risk Management (Business Continuity Management)

Modules for Enterprise Risk Management (Risk Management)

Modules for Financial Management (Accounting)

Modules for Financial Management (Finance)

Modules for Intellectual Property (IP) Management

Modules for Organisational Development (Change Management)

Modules for Organisational Development (Innovation Management)

Modules for Organisational Development (Knowledge Management)

Modules for Project Management

Modules for Strategy Planning and Implementation