Official website links end with .gov.sg

Government agencies communicate via .gov.sg websites (e.g. go.gov.sg/open).Trusted websites

Secure websites use HTTPS

Look for a lock (Secure websites use HTTPS) or https:// as an added precaution. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Service Excellence


The Service Excellence Competency Framework (SV CF) provides a whole-of-company capability development roadmap for organisations, so companies can create and define their desired service experience.

The SV CF advocates the adoption of an ‘inside-out’ and ‘outside-in’ approach to sustaining service excellence. It focuses on six capability areas: leadership, planning and process, people, customer experience, information and results, and service innovation.

The SV CF also aims to professionalise service careers through a Workforce Skills Qualifications (WSQ) pathway. It has 34 competencies that may be used as training guides to build the organisation’s capability in service excellence. The SV CF also features non-WSQ programmes that aim to impart the latest trends in service excellence to C-level executives.

For an overview of the SV CF, click here  -> The Service Excellence Competency Framework Competency Map

For an overview of the Service Excellence WSQ Qualifications Pathway, click here -> The Road Map to Service Excellence WSQ Qualifications

With the development of the 34 Skills Frameworks, all courses and qualifications are now accredited against the Skills Frameworks since 27 Jul 2020. Hence, as part of this continuous transition, the four horizontal WSQ frameworks [Business Management (BM), Employability Skills (ES), Leadership and People Management (LPM) and Service Excellence Competency Framework (SVCF)] and their Competency Standard (CSes) will cease by 31 December 2022.

In 2019, SSG undertook a review of the Generic Skills and Competencies (GSC) to formulate a total of sixteen (16) new Critical Core Skills (CCS) competencies which was launched in 2020.  These 16 CCS competencies are transferable soft skillsets that our local workforce can be equipped with, and which are valued by employers across industries. For more information on CCS, please refer to the CCS webpage.

WSQ as a national qualification would remain in place and trainees who were awarded the relevant WSQ accreditation and SOAs in the past would not be affected by the upcoming cessation of the WSQ horizontal frameworks. For trainees who are currently taking the horizontal WSQ full qualification programmes and completing them (including assessments) before 31 December 2022, will still be awarded the relevant SOAs and qualifications

Service Excellence

  Level 6 – Non-WSQ Modules for C-Suite Executives

  Level 5 – WSQ Specialist Diploma in Service Leadership

  Level 4 – WSQ Diploma in Service Leadership

  Level 3 – WSQ Advanced Certificate in Service Excellence

  Level 1 – WSQ Certificate in Service Excellence


Transition Advice for Training Providers

From 1 April 2019, the Service Excellence Competency Framework (SVCF) will be transited to the Skills Framework construct. Each SVCF Competency Standard (CS)/Skills Standard (SS) is mapped to a Technical Skills and Competencies (TSC) at appropriate proficiency level. Existing SVCF qualifications’ titles and module bundling will be retained. 

For more information, please refer to the following documents: